Deactivate an environment

If you have environments you aren’t using, you may want to deactivate them to save resources for what you need. To deactivate an environment, you need to be an admin for the project or the given environment.

Deactivating the project results in the following:

  • The environment becomes inactive. Unless it’s reactivated, it’s no longer deployed and isn’t accessible from the web or via SSH.
  • All services running on this environment are deleted.
  • All data specific to the environment is deleted. If the environment is reactivated, it syncs data from its parent environment.

Deactivate an environment 

To deactivate an environment, follow these steps:

  • Select the project with an environment you want to deactivate.
  • From the Environment menu, select the environment.
  • Click Settings.
  • In the row with Status, click Edit .
  • Select the checkbox to show you understand the consequences.
  • Click Deactivate & Delete Data.
  • Confirm your choice.

Run the following command:

platform environment:deactivate <ENVIRONMENT_NAME>

Delete the branch 

Inactive environments still have branches in Git. To delete the branch entirely, run the following command:

git push origin --delete <BRANCH_NAME>

Reactivate an environment 

Reactivating an environment syncs data from its parent environment.

To reactivate an inactive environment, follow these steps:

  • Select the project with an environment you want to reactivate.
  • From the Environment menu, select the environment.
  • Click Settings.
  • In the row with Status, click Edit .
  • Click Activate.

Run the following command:

platform environment:activate <ENVIRONMENT_NAME>