Platform.sh User Documentation

Administer teams

Upsun Beta

Access our newest offering - Upsun!

Get your free trial by clicking the link below.

Get your Upsun free trial

Organizations on Platform.sh are made up of both projects and users. While organizations by themselves allow you to assign project and environment type permissions to individual users on individual projects, having many users and many projects calls for another method to group common access control settings.

Teams provide a grouping that connects a subset of an organization’s users to another subset of that organization’s projects. That relationship enables organization owners to set default project and environment type access settings for each user and project from one place.

There is no limit to the number of teams that can be defined within a single organization.

Create a new team Anchor to this heading

As an organization owner or member with Manage users permissions, you can create new teams.

Teams must belong to an organization, so create one first. You can create new organizations with different payment methods and billing addresses and organize your projects as you want, but keep in mind that both users and teams are restricted to single organizations.

  1. Navigate to your existing organization.
  2. Open the user menu (your name or profile picture).
  3. Select Teams from the dropdown.
  4. Click + Create team.
  5. Enter the information for your team. Only the team name is required at this point, but you can define environment type permissions now if you’d like.
  6. Click Create team.
  1. Run the following command:

    platform team:create -o ORGANIZATION_NAME
  2. Enter a team name.

  3. Define your team’s project role (admin or viewer).

  4. If your team has viewer rights on the project, define its role on each type of environment.

  5. Enter Y to confirm.

Delete an existing team Anchor to this heading

As an organization owner or member with Manage users permissions, you can delete existing teams.

Note that deleting teams and deleting users are not equivalent. Deleting a team will remove member access permissions to projects described by the team, but it will not remove users from the organization (or your billing).

  1. Navigate to your existing organization
  2. Open the user menu (your name or profile picture).
  3. Select Teams from the dropdown.
  4. Find the team you want to delete under the Manage teams list, then click More.
  5. Click Delete team.
  6. Click Yes to confirm.
  1. Run the following command:

    platform team:delete -o ORGANIZATION_NAME
  2. Select the team you want to delete.

  3. Enter Y to confirm.

Manage team settings Anchor to this heading

As an organization owner or member with Manage users permissions, you can manage the settings of existing teams such as:

Team name Anchor to this heading

  1. Navigate to your existing organization.
  2. Open the user menu (your name or profile picture).
  3. Select Teams from the dropdown.
  4. Find the team you want to rename under the Manage teams list, then click More.
  5. Click Edit team.
  6. In the sidebar click the Edit link, and edit the team name.
  7. Click Save.
  1. Run the following command:

    platform team:update -o ORGANIZATION_NAME
  2. Select the team you want to rename.

  3. Enter the new name.

  4. Confirm or adjust the team permissions.

  5. Enter Y to confirm.

Project & environment type permissions Anchor to this heading

The primary purpose of teams is to allow organizations to quickly apply, audit, and update project and environment type permissions for groups of users.

  1. Navigate to your existing organization

  2. Open the user menu (your name or profile picture).

  3. Select Teams from the dropdown.

  4. Find the team you want to modify under the Manage teams list, then click More.

  5. Click Edit team.

  6. In the sidebar, you can:

    • Assign Project permissions by selecting the check box to make team members Project admins of every project added to the team.
    • Assign Environment type permissions by using the dropdowns to grant No access, Viewer, Contributor, or Admin rights to team members for Production, Staging, and Development project environment types.
  7. Click Save.

  1. Run the following command:

    platform team:update -o ORGANIZATION_NAME
  2. Select the team whose permissions you want to update.

  3. Confirm or adjust the team name.

  4. Adjust the team permissions.

  5. Enter Y to confirm.

Team members Anchor to this heading

Add users to a team Anchor to this heading

To join a team, a user must already have been added to the organization, where their organization permissions are defined.

  1. Navigate to your existing organization.
  2. Open the user menu (your name or profile picture).
  3. Select Teams from the dropdown.
  4. Find the team you want to modify under the Manage teams list, then click More.
  5. Click Add user.
  6. Locate and select organization users from the dropdown.
  7. In the sidebar click the Edit link, and edit the team name.
  8. Click Add users.
  1. Run the following command:

    platform team:user:add -o ORGANIZATION_NAME
  2. Select the team you want to add a user to.

  3. Enter the user’s email address.

  4. Enter Y to confirm.

Remove users from a team Anchor to this heading

Note that deleting users from teams and deleting users from organizations are not equivalent. Deleting users from a team will remove member access permissions to projects described by the team, but it will not remove users from the organization (or your billing).

  1. Navigate to your existing organization.
  2. Open the user menu (your name or profile picture).
  3. Select Teams from the dropdown.
  4. Find the team you want to modify under the Manage teams list, then click More.
  5. Click Edit team.
  6. Find the user you want to remove under the USERS tab view, then click More.
  7. Click Remove user.
  8. Click Yes to confirm.
  1. Run the following command:

    platform team:user:delete -o ORGANIZATION_NAME
  2. Select a team.

  3. Select the user you want to remove from the team.

  4. Enter Y to confirm.

Team access to projects Anchor to this heading

Adding projects to a team’s access Anchor to this heading

Option 1: Add projects to team with from Team settings

  1. Navigate to your existing organization.
  2. Open the user menu (your name or profile picture).
  3. Select Teams from the dropdown.
  4. Find the team you want to modify under the Manage teams list, then click More.
  5. Click Edit team.
  6. Click + Add projects.
  7. Select All projects, or choose individual projects from the dropdown.
  1. Click Add to team.

Option 2: Add teams to project from project’s Access settings

  1. Navigate to your existing organization.
  2. Select the project you want to add to the existing team.
  3. Navigate to the project’s settings by clicking the Settings icon.
  4. Click Access settings under Project settings in the sidebar.
  5. Select the TEAMS tab in the Access list view.
  6. Click +Add to projects.
  7. Select All teams, or choose individual teams from the dropdown.
  1. Click Add to team.
  1. Run the following command:

    platform team:project:add -o ORGANIZATION_NAME
  2. Select a team.

  3. Select the project you want the team to access.

  4. Enter Y to confirm.

Remove project from team’s access Anchor to this heading

Option 1: Remove projects from a team with from Team settings

  1. Navigate to your existing organization.
  2. Open the user menu (your name or profile picture).
  3. Select Teams from the dropdown.
  4. Find the team you want to modify under the Manage teams list, then click More.
  5. Click Edit team.
  6. Find the project you want to modify under the PROJECTS tab view, then click More.
  7. Click Remove project.
  8. Select All projects, or choose individual projects from the dropdown.
  9. Click Yes to confirm.

Option 2: Remove teams from a project from project’s Access settings

  1. Navigate to your existing organization.
  2. Select the project you want to add to the existing team.
  3. Navigate to the project’s settings by clicking the Settings icon.
  4. Click Access settings under Project settings in the sidebar.
  5. Find the team under the TEAMS tab view, then click More.
  6. Click Remove team.
  7. Click Yes to confirm.
  1. Run the following command:

    platform team:project:delete -o ORGANIZATION_NAME
  2. Select a team.

  3. Select the project whose access you want to revoke for the team.

  4. Enter Y to confirm.

Is this page helpful?